Reduce Waste and Go Plastic-Free at the Source

During travel, many travelers enjoy using one-time disposable amenities provided by hotels. These seemingly convenient items come at a high environmental cost. Firstly, the production of disposable products requires a significant amount of energy and raw materials, only to be discarded after a single use, wasting precious resources. Moreover, many disposable items are made of plastic, which takes over a thousand years to decompose into microplastics. These microplastics can enter the oceans through rainfall, causing pollution and potentially entering the human body, posing risks to our health.

The immediate solution lies in reducing waste at the source by minimizing the use of disposable items and opting for sustainable alternatives. When traveling, bring your own toothpaste, toothbrush, and personal care items. Saving energy, reducing our ecological footprint, and building a plastic-free culture are responsibilities we all share!

The Hong Kong Government’s regulation of disposable plastic tableware and other plastic products will be implemented from 22 April 2024, prohibiting the sale of disposable plastic tableware and the provision of such utensils to customers at catering premises. Hotels are also prohibited from providing complimentary disposable toiletries and in-room plastic-bottled water for free. In response to the regulations, The Cityview has implemented the following measures in guest rooms:

  • All bathrooms are equipped with refillable shower amenities.
  • Recycling bins are placed in the rooms to facilitate the separation and recycling of items such as plastic bottles and aluminum cans. Housekeeping staff will handle the sorting and recycling process.
  • For drinking water needs, guest can use the electric kettle in the room or visit the smart drinking water dispenser in Amazing in the lobby, which provides ambient water.
  • For purchasing personal care items as needed, please inquire with The Cityview’s reservation department at [email protected].

At The Cityview, we encourage all our guests to seize this opportunity and join hands with us to reduce waste at the source, cherish resources through reuse, and protect our future generations. Let’s work together to create a better and healthier future.

About the regulation: https://www.cuttheplastics.hk/index.php/en/about-the-regulation-en
About The Cityview ‘s green initiatives: https://bit.ly/GoGreen23

源头减废齐走塑

于旅游时,旅客多喜爱使用酒店提供的一次性客房用品。 看似方便的物品,其实背后却付出了高昂的环境代价。 首先,制造一次性用品需要使用大量能源及原材料,物品使用一次便要弃掉,浪费了宝贵的资源;再者,不少一次性用品以塑胶制造,塑胶一般需要千年以上才能被大自然拆解 至肉眼看不到的微塑粒,而微塑粒可能经雨水进入海洋,这不但污染海洋,更有机会辗转进入人体,影响人类健康。

当务之急,当然要从源头减废开始,减少使用即弃用品,选择可持续使用的代替品,于外游时自备牙膏、牙刷及个人梳洗用品等。 节约能源、减少生态足迹、共建走塑文化是我们每个人的责任!

香港政府即弃塑胶管制计划将于2024年4月22日起实施,禁止在本地销售即弃胶餐具和禁止餐饮处所向顾客提供即弃胶餐具,亦禁止酒店和宾馆免费供应即弃洗漱梳妆用品 和在房间内免费供应即弃胶樽装水。 因应条例实施,城景国际将于客房内采取以下措施:

  • 所有客房浴室均已提供可补充性的沐浴用品
  • 于客房放置回收箱,方便客人分开处理可回收之物品如胶樽及铝罐等,再由房务员分类回收
  • 如需饮用水,客人可使用客房之电热水壶烧水,如有需要,亦可前往大堂Amazing设置之智能饮用水机盛载室温水
  • 按需要选购个人护理用品,详情请向城景国际订房部( [email protected] ) 查询

城景国际期待各位客人把握这次机会,与我们携手并肩由源头减废做起,珍惜资源重用,保护我们和子孙后代,为他们建立美好、健康的将来。

有关管制计划: https://www.cuttheplastics.hk/index.php/en/about-the-regulation-en
有关城景国际绿色营运: https://bit.ly/GoGreen23